Challenge Day 1

Here I am at Day 1 of my 10 Day Positivity & Productivity Challenge. (Yes, I was supposed to start yesterday, but life happens, lol). Today’s instructions are for me to take some time to envision my dream life and what steps I need to take to get there.

“Pshhhh, this is going to be easy” I thought to myself this morning. It was 6:50am and I was sitting at my desk listening to my husband snore a few feet away. I began by breaking out my favorite journal and pink pen (what can I say, I was a 90’s kid and get easily excited by neon pens). First I decided to break up my “dream life” into categories. I’ve always been pretty clear on what I wanted family wise- a loving husband {Check},  and three to four children {Check}. In terms of my education category, I wanted to receive a higher education bachelors degree {Check}, masters degree {Check}, PHD- something I’d still like to achieve a few years down the road, once I’m solid in my area of study. Now comes the tough part of my “dream life”: the “everything else” category. This includes my travel desires, personal development expectations (ie: learn another language, learn to play an instrument, be confident in who I am as a woman), living situations (ie: type of home and where I want to life), and anything else miscellaneous (ie: join the circus……I’m joking…..I hate clowns lol). This last category proved to be the most difficult. I thought about it for 10 minutes before getting up to take care of my family and prepare them for the school / work day. After things had settled, I went back to my journal to complete the task at hand. It was fairly simple to complete the dreams, but not so much the steps on how to get there. That was when it dawned on me. This isn’t a static document, but one that can change with time. Sure the large dreams will stay the same, but the details can be worked out as I go along.

Overall, I have to say that this exercise was one that I truly enjoyed. It put a smile on my face to see in writing what I had accomplished, and made me excited for all the wonderful times ahead.

xo Robin

2 thoughts on “Challenge Day 1

  1. I am loving this challenge. Day 1 has opened my eyes to what I have accomplished and what I need to do to continue to reach my goals. Something I have not taken time to think about in a while. Thank you for the kickstart =)

    Like

Leave a comment